Shri Mata Vaishno Devi University
A State University recognized under Section 2 (f) & 12 (B) of UGC Act of 1956
Click here to visit new website

Manoj Sinha Lt Governor

Shri Manoj Sinha

Hon'ble Lt. Governor of Jammu & Kashmir and

Chancellor, SMVD University

28042022 HVC It gives me great pride and pleasure to assume the office of the Vice-Chancellor of Shri Mata Vaishno Devi University (SMVDU) which is situated in the spiritual lap of Maa Bhagwati. The University stands true to its motto,"विज्ञानं ब्रम्ह" which means, “GOD (BRAHMA) IS SCIENCE". The aim at the University is to evolve into a solution-provider and knowledge-spreading center of higher education in the country and thereby usher in a meaningful and a productive engagement with all stake-holders.

Shri Mata Vaishno Devi University has adopted the National Education Policy 2020 (NEP-2020) in letter and spirit. As a first step towards this, we have introduced multi- and cross-disciplinary courses across engineering, science, social science, and humanities. The curriculum has been designed and updated to meet the challenges of the 21st century, while enriching the students learning experience through student-centric teaching methods. I am happy to share that the university is ranked between 101-150 band in the category of Top Engineering Institutions, by NIRF 2023 of the Ministry of MHRD, Govt. of India. The University has also been graded among the Top 26th in the category of Architecture institutions by NIRF 2023, and has been ranked 151-200 among top universities in University Category & Overall Institutions Category in NIRF 2023. The university is committed to maintain high research standards and has witnessed a huge number of publications in high impact factor journals.

The university has established itself proudly as a learning seat of academia across the nation, and now it stands firmly amidst the reputed universities and premier institutes. This is really a milestone, and many others are to be achieved in due course. No wonder that many luminaries, such as Presidents, Vice-Presidents and Prime Ministers of India, and other academic figures and leaders of national and international importance have graced Shri Mata Vaishno Devi University with their regular visits. The credit goes to the efforts put up by the well-accomplished faculty members and dedicated support staff.

On a note of exhortation, I am optimistic that the SMVDU fraternity will continue to produce excellent academic ecosystem comprising of scientists, technocrats, visionary leaders, competent researchers and teachers in the fields of science, engineering, humanities, management and social sciences.

Jai Mata Di

Prof. (Dr.) Pragati Kumar

The Academic Council of the University is responsible for all the academic components, curriculum, examination and evaluation procedures, academic regulations and for approving for award of degree to the student, after successful completion of program. The constitution of Academic Council is as follows:

The Executive Council is the apex body of the University responsible for all the academic appointments, management and regulation of finances and account, investments and properties, fixation of emoluments and creation of perks, enforcement of discipline, appointment of examiners and any other matter pertaining to the functioning of the University. The Executive Council constitutes of the following:

  1. Vice Chancellor, SMVDU
  2. Vice Chancellor, University of Jammu
  3. Vice Chancellor, University of Kashmir
  4. Dean of Students Welfare, SMVD University - (Ex-officio Member)
  5. Dean, Faculty of Engineering, SMVD University - (for a period of two years w.e.f. 28/07/2023)
  6. Dean, Faculty of Management, SMVD University - (for a period of two years w.e.f. 28/07/2023)
  7. Head, School of Computer Science & Engineering, SMVD University - (for a period of two years w.e.f. 28/07/2023)
  8. Head, School of Energy Management, SMVD University - (for a period of two years w.e.f. 28/07/2023)
  9. Nominees of Shri Mata Vaishno Devi Shrine Board (SMVDSB) as nominated by Chairman, Shri Mata Vaishno Devi Shrine Board for a period of three years w.e.f. 25/07/2023:
    a) Prof. Pankaj Chandra, Vice Chancellor and Chairman, Board of Management, Ahmedabad University.
    b) Prof. A.S.K. Sinha, Director, Rajiv Gandhi Institute of Petroleum Technology, Amethi
    c) Prof. Manoj Singh Gaur, Director, IIT, Jammu.
  10. Principal Secretary to Lieutenant Governor, Secretary to Hon'ble Chancellor - Permanent Invitee (Ex-officio)
  11. Chief Executive Officer, SMVDSB - Permanent Invitee (Ex-officio)
  12. Registrar, SMVDU - (Secretary)

The members of the Finance Committee are:

    1. Vice Chancellor, SMVDU (Chairman)
    2. Nominees of Chancellor:-
      i) Shri Santosh Dattatraya Vaidya, IAS, Principal Secretary to the Government, Finance Deptt. J&K (UT) w.e.f 25.07.2023.
      ii) Principal Secretary to Hon'ble Lieutenant Governor, J&K (UT) (Ex-Officio).
      iii) Chief Executive Officer, SMVDSB (Ex-Officio).
    3. Nominee of the Executive Council:-
      i) Shri Alok Kumar, IRS, Principal Secretary to Government, Higher Education Department J&K (UT) w.e.f 25.07.2023.
      ii) Shri Ramesh Kumar, IAS, Divisional Commissioner Jammu w.e.f 25.07.2023.
      iii) Shri Shadi Lal Pandita, Director General Codes, Finance Department, Government of J&K w.e.f 25.07.2023.
    4. Permanent Invitees:- (Ex-Officio)
      i) Registrar, SMVD University.
      ii) Chief Accounts Officer, SMVDSB.
    5. Finance Officer, SMVD University. (Member Secretary)

The Members of the Finance Committee other than Ex-Officio shall hold office for a term of three years.

New Events-2023

More Events   



University's Achievements

 alt=SMVDU Research Scholar bags Second Position in the 3-minute Thesis (3MT) Competition...Read More

06062023 researchSMVDU, Faculty Delivers the Lecture in Short Term Training Program...Read More

06062023 researchSMVDU Researcher Declares Qualified for the Award of PhD...Read More

06062023 researchSMVDU Faculty Excels with “Young Faculty in Architecture” award...Read More

06062023 researchDr. Jindal of SMVD University conducts a session at NITTTR Chandigarh...Read More

06062023 researchSMVDU Faculty Dr. Rasool bags Award in International....Read More

06062023 researchMr. Yogesh Declares Qualified for the Award of Ph.D....Read More

06062023 rohiniMs. Rohini Raina, Scholar Bags Best Paper Award at Intl Conference...Read More

26052023 PoojaphdPhysicsMs. Pooja Khajuria Declares Qualified for the Award of Ph.D....Read More

12052023 newsSMVDU, Students Present Papers in an International Conference...Read More

09052023 ayushTripathiSMVDU Student selected for the Google Summer of Code 2023...Read More

08052023 trishalMr. Sushil Kumar Trisal declares qualified for the Award of Ph.D....Read More

04052023 navleenMs. Navleen Kour has been declared qualified for the Ph.D....Read More

04052023 shipraMs. Shipra Misra has been declared qualified for the Ph.D....Read More

02052023 csephdMr. Arjun Puri Declares Qualified for the award of Ph.D....Read More

01052023 sajitMr Sajid Ali Rather declares qualified for the Award of Ph.D....Read More

More Achievements